I can’t stop taking pictures of carrots

May 28, 2008 at 10:08 pm Leave a comment

They are just so darn cute, and they have character! These carrots are from Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Co., and are called “Atomic Red”. They are growing quite happily, and taste great! Uh oh, waaiiit-a-minute, now I am confused. I forgot to label anything in the garden when I planted in December. I am looking through old seed packets to find out the name of these carrots, and I have another package labeled “Purple Haze Carrot”, from Botanical Interests. I just went out to examine my 2 rows of carrots and I think I may have a row of each, but they look similar. Uhhhh… not quite sure….anyway—they’re carrots.

Here is a baby picture of my carrot family.The babies

Here they are as teenagers!

Some people have a real family and they happily pull pictures out of their purse or wallet to share with others, some have pets, and…well….you get where I’m going. Okay, so I don’t have a picture in my wallet. (yet).

We also planted cauliflower for the first time. This one from Botanical Interests is called “Purple of Sicily” from an heirloom mix called “Chef’s Choice Blend”. It turns green when cooked.

I cooked these up the other night as a hot meal, and had leftovers for lunch, which tasted fine eaten at room temperature! I haven’t used a microwave oven for 3 years, so I try to take things for lunch that will taste good cold, or room temperature. I have read of studies that show that the microwave oven can damage the nutritive value of food. In my book, “Healing with Whole Foods” it states,

“Microwave cooking seems to damage the molecular integrity of food, diminishing its subtle qi. Experiments reported in the prestigious British medical journal The Lancet (Dec. 9th, 1989) demonstrate that microwave cooking alters food enough to cause, upon ingestion, “structural, functional and immunological changes” in the body. The report further states that microwaves transform the amino acid L-proline into D-proline, a proven toxin to the nervous system, liver, and kidneys.”

I also read in a couple of magazines about a study that showed the nutrient value of broccoli to be reduced by up to 97% after microwave cooking. I used to think that I couldn’t live without my microwave. I got used to it fast. What’s the point of eating just to satisfy the immediate call of my belly, if I’m not actually going to get any nutrition from it. That’s what makes the body crave even more food in an effort to satisfy it’s nutritional needs, and then we are driven to OVEReat! Okay, enough of that. Moving on–

Here’s what I made:

Quinoa and Steamed Veggies with Dijon Butter Sauce

To cook quinoa, use 1 part grain to 2 parts water. Rinse quinoa in strainer to remove bitter saponin coating. I like to dry roast in pan, stirring and shaking until dry and nutty, then add water, put lid on and turn down heat to cook for about 15 minutes.

Steam carrots, cauliflower and broccoli.

Cream together a little bit of butter, dijon mustard, chopped parsley, chopped green onion, and a tiny dribble of honey or agave. Toss with warm veggies.

Season with salt & pepper.

Food Notes

Quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) is sometimes called “The Mother Grain”. It has been cultivated in the Andes for centuries and has been a primary staple food there for thousands of years. It is very high in vitamins and minerals. It also is a wonderful source of protein, with a balanced amino acid complex. Quinoa is 16-20% protein, in comparison with rice at 7.5% and millet at 9.9%. For more about quinoa check here, or this article by author Karen Railey.

The most common variety that you will see is golden. People’s Coop in Ocean Beach often has bulk red or brown quinoa, which I think is beautiful in plate presentation! Plus, it helps to promote biodiversity! Which is a whole other subject. Probably shouldn’t get started, but okay, just in brief…

There are thousands of varieties of each kind of seed around the world that have evolved to grow particularly well in their specific microclimate, and learned to defend themselves against their local pests and diseases. Limiting crops to monocultures can sometimes mean disaster if disease or pests strike, such as in the irish potatoe famine, the European wine industry collapse in the late 1800s, and the US southern corn leaf blight epidemic of 1970. Efforts to avoid this also increases reliance on pesticides or herbicides, or seeds modified to have all this included within them. The seeds that were so ingeniously crafted by mother nature are lost and forgotten. Besides all of that, different varieties of seeds,for example rice, potatoes, quinoa or corn, will have slightly different micro nutrients, which also have often evolved to provide nutrition that is unique and specifically important to inhabitants of this region. This diversity, by the way, has NOT been forgotten, and is very much nurtured and celebrated with pride in the world of wine and grapes and all the many unique varietals and varieties. Anyway…check here for more on biodiversity

In summary I’d like to say (finally, yeah?), I think it’s fun to mix up my cooking by trying every weird variety that I can get my hands on, and I also like to think that I am getting a more diverse supply of vitamins, minerals and important micronutrients.

Entry filed under: May 2008 posts.

Melon or Squash? cutest lunch box ever!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed