Holy snack-a-roli!

June 26, 2008 at 5:42 pm Leave a comment

Just when I thought it couldn’t get any better…..George introduced me to a new soft blue cheese (St. Auger Blue) to use for one of my favorite snacks…..on top of radish slices. I have been eating this combo for 12 years, always exploring different soft, blue or gorgonzola cheeses. This one is dangerous!

I got started on this snack when an acquaintance shared this delightful preperation with me, explaining how he had eaten this often while visiting France. It’s like cheese on a cracker….you get soft texture with crunch…..but the crisp, cool, moist radish imparts a little more life than a dry, dusty cracker. Don’t get me wrong, I love cheese on crackers too, but something about this combination is so refreshing and satisfying.

This year I read somewhere that radishes and daikon can help a person digest fat.

Are you thinking what I’m thinking????? HELL YEAH!! I can eat ALL THE CHEESE I WANT now! Bring it on!

Those French people! I’m always reading how they eat high fat diets, and this and that, yet they have a much lower rate of heart disease and obesity, and overall health is so much better than ours. Maybe it’s all about the food combining.

(Perfectly good piece of French wisdom, but still thinking like an American)

Entry filed under: June 2008 posts.

cutest lunch box ever! The tastes of summer….food happiness fills my heart!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed