I’m not feeling quite up to par

August 12, 2008 at 4:49 am 3 comments

That’s what my grandpa McConnell used to say when he didn’t feel so well.

I have this cold and I’m not wiped out, but I have no fire. Today I took naps, read, soaked in my neighbors bathtub full of Epsom Salts with lavender & eucalyptus essential oils, used up a couple of boxes of tissues, took too many kinds of herbal supplement remedies, went to tai chi but shouldn’t have…..anyway…………

I needed to prepare something for dinner so I came up with this miso soup. This soup feels kind and friendly to me yet puts it’s hands on it’s hips and shakes it’s finger at whatever is ailing me. I’m just tipping my bowl to slurp the last drops out right now.

To make one BIG bowl of soup, I sauteed in a bit of olive oil:

  • some garlic
  • lots of fresh ginger
  • hot peppers from the garden. If I didn’t have hot peppers I would have used red pepper flakes
  • mushrooms

Then added:

  • cubed tofu
  • chopped lacinto kale
  • enough water to make soup
  • tablespoon of dulse (a seaweed high in vitamins, especially B, minerals, trace minerals, and good source of electroytes. This adds a bit of a salty flavor but is relatively low in sodium!)
  • teaspoon coconut oil
  • yellow miso at the last minute

I’m headed back to the couch to read and fall asleep again.

Entry filed under: August 2008 posts.

aaaaaarrrrrrgggghhh!!!!! To compost or not to compost

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula Rae  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Hey Lynelle! Here’s a new comment to get your angry lady back in shape 🙂
    I love all the recipes- completely inspiring and vegetarian. Great pics, too! Hope you’re feeling better and I’ll see you again soon.

    Thanks for checking it out! Glad you enjoyed it. I will be looking at your blog very soon! Lynelle

    Reply
  • 2. mentalmosaic  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:44 am

    “Up to par” – hehe, cute! My dad would always tell me I was looking “green around the gills” when I was coming down with something.

    Wish I could beam over and make you some of my famous Ginger Tea for What Ails Ya!

    Hugs from afar and hope your inner pilot light ignites real soon! 🙂

    ~Tui

    Ginger tea is my favorite! I’m wondering what your secret recipe is?

    Reply
  • 3. vanessa  |  October 10, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Hey,Wish I could give you a big hug!!! Garlic,ginger and onions,Whip-up some Kobucha and sit quietly in your garden!Some yoga?Have a wonderful trip to grandpa,see you when U get back.Inspiration by birth,Love V

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed